Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Search Tips for OneSearch: Additional Categories

Concise, step-by-step instructions for finding all kinds of things.

 

A colorful line

HOW TO FIND ADDITIONAL CATEGORIES OF LIBRARY MATERIALS IN ONESEARCH

Special Collections & University Archives houses and protects unique collections of materials ranging from comic books, to CSUSB history, to local communities' history.

How to Find Only Special Collections & University Archives Items

1.  Run a keyword search (Special Collections example: Superman; University Archives example: The People's University: a History of the California State University) limited to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Resource Type, click the box or boxes (there may be more than one) labeled either Special Collections or University Archives.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

The theses and dissertations found with these searches are all done by CSUSB students.

How To Find a Specific Masters Thesis or Dissertation

1.  Run a search for the author, title, or keywords of the thesis limited to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Resource Type, click the box for Theses and Dissertations.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

 

How To See a List of Theses and Dissertations in a Specific Discipline

1.  Run a search for the discipline (example: social work) limited to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Resource Type, click the box for Theses and Dissertations.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

How To Find a Specific Music Score

1.  Run a search for a song or composition's title (example: Moonlight Sonata), or a composer's name (example: Gershwin), limited to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Resource Type, click the box for Scores.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

 

How To See a List of All Music Scores

1.  Run this search: score and limit it to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Resource Type, click the box for Scores.  This step eliminates everything except the scores.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

 

How To Find Music Scores at Other CSU Libraries

Simply limit your search to Books & Media (all CSU).  Be sure to sign in to My Library Account so you can request media from other CSU libraries via our CSU+ service.

The Water Resources Institute (WRI), located on the 4th floor of the library, is an archive of historical technical journals, engineering and planning reports, well records, maps, aerial photos, pamphlets, government documents and books relating to water use in Southern California.  The WRI also maintains the Salton Sea Archives which are housed at the Palm Desert Campus.

How to Find Only Water Resources Institute or Salton Sea Archives Items

1. Run a keyword search (example: water rights California) limited to Books & Media (CSUSB).

2.  On the left side of the next screen, under Refine my results, then under Location, click the box or boxes (there may be more than one) for either Water Resources Inst., or Palm Desert Campus Salton Sea Archives.

3.  Click the Apply Filters button.

Colorful, decorative horizontal line.