Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Student Guide to the John M. Pfau Library: Finding Articles

The John M. Pfau Library offers many resources and services for student success--don't miss out!

 

           A colorful line.

ARTICLES: POPULAR VS. SCHOLARLY

Most of the time your professors will ask you to choose scholarly journal articles for your papers and projects.  See our guide, What Are Scholarly Journals?  Also see our video tutorial, Popular and Scholarly Sources.

CHOOSING AND NARROWING A TOPIC

Here is some help for choosing and narrowing topics for your papers and projects:

HOW TO FIND SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES

Selecting a Database

To find scholarly journal articles, you will need to search one of the library's databases which provide free content to CSUSB students.  You can do this in the library or from home.  Always begin on the library's website.  A reference librarian can recommend the best database for your topic and show you how to use it.  See our guide, How to Begin a Database Search which includes a video tutorial.

Searching a Database

Keyword searching is a method for getting what you want out of a database.  See our guide, Keyword Search Strategies which includes a video tutorial.

Finding the Full Text of Articles

Knowing where to click will help you find full text:  Maximize Your Full Text!  Includes a video tutorial.

WE CAN GET ARTICLES FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

The Interlibrary Loan (a.k.a. ILL, or ILLiad) service for articles and books

This free service allows you to request the full text of any article that is not available from the Pfau Library.  You also can request books that are not at any CSU library.  See our guide, Get Articles This Library Doesn't Have.

              A colorful line.