Historic Newspapers: Ethnic Studies: Online

For Us, By Us: "Own Voices" Newspapers (CSUSB Users Only)

Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Digital images of Indigenous print journalism 1828-2016 from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience, and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Black Life in America: 1704-today This link opens in a new window
From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream news publications, BLIA offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Includes Series 1: 1704-1877, Series 2: 1878-1975, and Series 3: 1976-today.
Chicago Defender (1909-2010): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a Chicago newspaper produced by and for the Black community. Digital images available, fully searchable.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by and for minortized ethnic groups. Includes some Spanish-language publications.
Hispanic Life in America, 1704-today This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes Series 1, 1704-1942: Spanish colonialism through World War II. Series 2, 1943-2009: Immigration, labor rights and civil rights. Series 3, 2010-Today: Hispanic Americans in the 21st century.

Indigenous Peoples Newspapers
This collection comprises 21 newspaper titles from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada

Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2010): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a Los Angeles newspaper produced by and for the Black community. Digital images available, fully searchable.

Japanese-American Incarceration (CSUSB Users Only)

Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 This link opens in a new window
Archival records relating to the forced removal of Japanese American citizens and residents from their homes following Pearl Harbor. Documents the day-to-day running of the 10 concentration camps. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.

Free on the Web: Incarceration Camp Newspapers

Newspapers in camp (Densho Encyclopedia)
Brief article tracing the history and role of the camp newspapers.
Denson Tribune at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Jerome concentration camp, Arkansas. The paper was published from 1942 until 1944.
Gila News-Courier at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Gila River concentration camp, Arizona. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Granada Pioneer at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Granada concentration camp, Colorado. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945
Heart Mountain Sentinel at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Heart Mountain concentration camp, Wyoming. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Manzanar Free Press at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Manzanar concentration camp, California. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Minidoka Irrigator at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Minidoka concentration camp, Idaho. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Newell Star at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Tule Lake concentration camp, California. The paper was published from 1944 until 1945.
Poston Chronicle at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Poston concentration camp, Arizona. Poston consisted of three separate sections, designated Poston I, II and III. As a result, many of the Chronicle's issues contain pages contributed by the different sections. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Rohwer Outpost at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Rohwer concentration camp, Arkansas. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Santa Anita Pacemaker at Densho (color scans)
April 21, 1942 - October 7, 1942. Be advised that you must first choose an issue, then scroll down to view all the available scans for that issue.
Santa Anita Pacemaker at Densho (black and white scans)
Santa Anita Pacemaker at the Arcadia Public Library
PDF files, but some issues are missing; Densho has more complete holdings.
Topaz Times at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Topaz concentration camp, Utah. The paper was published from 1942 until 1945.
Tulean Dispatch at Densho
Published by the inmates at the Tule Lake concentration camp, California, from 1942-43. The collection includes several other publications produced by inmates at the camp.

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2024 2:45 PM
URL: https://libguides.csusb.edu/HistoricNewspapers
Print Page

Subjects: History, Newspapers - Local & Regional, Newspapers - National & International