Zotero for Mac: Creating Bibliographies & Turning in Your Paper

- CREATE A BIBLIOGRAPHY FROM IN-TEXT CITATIONS -

Use this method when you've made at least one in-text citation for EACH one of your sources.

1.  Place your cursor at the end of your paper where you want your bibliography to go.

2.  Click the Add/Edit Bibliography button (shown above).

3.  Your bibliography appears!

- CREATE A BIBLIOGRAPHY FROM A FOLDER'S CONTENTS -

Use this method when you've got sources you need to include in your bibliography that do not have in-text citations.

1.  You will need to have a folder in Zotero that contains all of the sources you used.

2.  In the open folder, highlight everything (command A).

3.  Right click on the highlighted items and choose Create Bibliography from Items in the pop-up menu.

4.  Open your document and place your cursor at the end of your paper where you want your bibliography to go.

5.  Click the Add/Edit Bibliography button (shown above).

6.  Your bibliography appears!

- CORRECTING ERRORS -

If you find any errors in your bibliography, which also means that there are errors in your in-text citations, you must correct them in Zotero, not in Word because that's where they come from.

1.  Go to Zotero's main screen and find the citation with the error.

2.  Correct the error in the panel with the full citation details then go back to your document in Word.

3.  In Word, in the Zotero menu, click Refresh (shown below) which will be to the right of the Add/Edit Bibliography button.

Now everything should be correct.

- IMPORTANT -

The live links between your paper and Zotero may cause formatting problems when viewed by anyone but you on your own computer.  Save your paper in PDF format before turning it in.  Use Microsoft Word's Save As function to convert a Word document to PDF format.