Gender and Sexuality Studies: Resources on the Web

Provides an overview of rights for trans persons around the world. Offers robust reports and mapping projects covering issues such as trans murder, health care, asylum legislation, hormone therapy, gender reassignment treatment/surgery, and more.

Country reports on issues (including human rights violations) related to sexual orientation and/or gender identity or expression.

Information on worldwide gender equality issues such as political participation, economic empowerment, violence against women, peace and security, and more. The digital library provides access to a variety of reports, assessments, guides, manuals, and the like.

Reports, publications, interactive maps and more.

A guide for instructors looking for open access resources for use in the classroom.

Outlines ACLU's participation in LGBT rights in Southern California and provides information on the LGBTQ Student Rights Project and related topics.

Reports, current and past legislation, and additional information related to the California LGBT community.

LGBT rights advocacy organization that provides information on marriage and relationships, families, non-discrimination, seniors, transgender rights, and youth. Details current bills and existing legislation.

Queering the I.E. collaboratively records the cartography of queer life in order to preserve our histories and unfolding realities. From parks to bars, courthouses, and collective action, we map stories of the people who have made a difference in the lives of other queer folks and the places that matter to them. Focusing on LGBTQ2IA+ Riverside history, primarily from the late 19th century to 2003 (with some exceptions), it draws upon the archival research, oral histories, and community responses generated for the LGBTQ+ Riverside Historic Context Statement, a collaboration between the City of Riverside Planning Department, Historic Resources Group, and University of California, Riverside Public History Program.

A non-profit service organization for LGBTQ+ youth and allies in the Inland Empire. Provide a safe space for young people to meet, make friends and participate in various weekly events and activities. Also offer support and resources for gender affirmation and community building.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Lesbian Gay Bisexual & Transgender Project provides issue overviews, case files, maps, timelines, FAQs, and more. Topics include basic rights and liberties, parenting, relationships and marriage, youth and schools, and discrimination against transgender people.

Resources (reports, timelines, blogs) covering a variety of topics including education, the women's movement, violence, trafficking, voting, women in civil rights, etc.

This database collects production details for films and television programs mainly produced since 2010. Projects directed or created by women and key topics in gender and women's studies are central to this expanding resource curated for diversity. Updated regularly, Dorothy incorporates comprehensive options for researching documentaries, dramas and comedies, television shows, and educational films.

Access reports, resource kits, and additional publications that focus on LGBT representation in popular media and more.

Information on a wide variety of topics related to LGBT rights, from children and youth to religion and faith.

A variety of resources related to civil rights for the LGBTQ community and for those with HIV. Court cases, magazine issues, toolkits, reports, fact sheets, state summaries, etc.

All support volunteers identify as part of the LGBTQIA+ family, and committed to serve the entire community, by providing free & confidential peer-support, information, and local resources through national hotlines and online programs.

This guide was created to supplement a presentation given at the 2016 Federal Depository Library Conference. That presentation, "We’re Here, We’re Queer, and We’re in the Public Record: Federal Government Documents on the LGBT Movement," highlighted a number of primary sources documenting the U.S. federal government's stance on issues related to the LGBT movement from the 1800s to the present day. These documents illustrate that our government's policies toward LGBT people have evolved greatly over the years and continue to change - though not always for the better.

Provides policy and issue analysis, LGBT movement overviews, and information on effective messaging. Access equality maps for state profiles and information on laws affecting the LGBT community across the U.S.

Overviews of issues, laws, and policies affecting transgender people. Covers topics such as discrimination, documentation, homelessness, immigration, and hate crimes. Provides information resources such as fact sheets, reports, manuals, and more.

Search by issue or state for information on policies that affect women and their families. Topics include taxes, poverty, LGBTQ equality, health care, and more.

Timelines, archival images, biographies, and more on a variety of LGBTQ topics.

Inspired by Sylvia Plath's tenacity and curiosity, this growing resource of hand-selected entries identifies recent books for researchers, scholarly editions, selected memoirs, and notable works for a general audience.

Trans Lifeline is a grassroots hotline for the trans community, by the trans community.

Housed within the UCLA School of Law, the Williams Institute conducts independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.

Includes material from the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives, he oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world.

Digitized materials and information about trans-related archival holdings around the word.

Digitized oral histories and video from the Lesbian Herstory Archives.

Access LGBTQ, feminist, and other radical publications from alternative and underground presses. 1950s-present.

A public history website that aims to generate, present, and promote high-quality LGBTQ historical research for LGBTQ and general audiences.

LIST of archive collections in the US and Canada. Published by the Society of American Archivists' Diverse Sexuality and Gender Division (last update 2012).

Library of Congress archived web content, including history, scholarship, and culture, both US and international. May 2018 to present.

Library of Congress archived digital content related to political candidates/issues and "The Rainbow Wave." July 2018 to present.

Library of Congress archived online content, including primary sources, first hand accounts, and social movements. July 2018 to present.

Library of Congress archived zines, with a focus on zines by people of color, women, immigrants, and LGBTQ+ and transgender and gender non-conforming individuals and organizations. November 2018 to present.

Browse international zines from the 1970s to present.

LIST of LGBTQ oral history projects in US and Canada. Produced by the LGBTQ Digital Collaboratory at the University of Toronto.

Interviews from those involved with the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP/New York).

Select digitized materials from the GLBT Historical Society Museum and Archives.

Digitized primary sources from a variety of archival collections across the nation. Search by time period, subject, primary source type, or state/location.