Gender and Sexuality Studies: Background Information
Resources for gender and sexuality studies research.
Background Information
Use reference materials like dictionaries and encyclopedias to gather background information on a topic. This will help you to identify important thinkers, theories, and debates in the field. CSUSB Libraries provides access to reference materials in print and electronic formats.
Primary Source Materials
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes three collections: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I and II; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new windowFocusing on legal materials, this collection charts the gay rights movement in the 20th and 21st centuries. Topics include marriage and family, employment discrimination, military service, AIDS and health care, public spaces and accommodations, and historical attitudes and analysis.
On the Web
- GLBTQ Encyclopedia ArchivesOverviews of a variety of topics in the arts, literature, social sciences, and history. Also includes essays and interviews.
Suggested Reference Resources
Women in Sports by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1440853703Publication Date: 2018Providing key data, insights, and ways of thinking about women and sports, this book is an excellent resource for high school and undergraduate students as well as for sport organizations serving girls and women.
The Cambridge Handbook of Sexual Development by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781107190719Publication Date: 2018The Cambridge Handbook of Sexual Development is a carefully curated conversation that brings together the top researchers in child and adolescent sexual development to redefine the issues, conflicts, and debates in the field.
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women by Call Number: 3rd Floor HQ1206 .A723 2018ISBN: 9781433827921Publication Date: 2018
Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138490260Publication Date: 2019
Transgender 101: A Simple Guide to a Complex Issue by Call Number: 3rd Floor HQ77.9 .T45 2012ISBN: 9780231157124Publication Date: 2012-03-13
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780810874688Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health by ISBN: 9781615372751Publication Date: 2020The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities.
The Routledge Handbook of Disability and Sexuality by ISBN: 9780429952319Publication Date: 2020This handbook provides a much-needed holistic overview of disability and sexuality research and scholarship.
Routledge Handbook of International Family Law by ISBN: 9781032093826Publication Date: 2021Globalisation, and the vast migrations of capital and labour that have accompanied it in recent decades, has transformed family law in once unimaginable ways.
The Routledge Handbook of Queer Rhetoric by ISBN: 9781003144809Publication Date: 2022The Routledge Handbook of Queer Rhetoric maps the ongoing becoming of queer rhetoric in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries, offering a dynamic overview of the history of and scholarly research in this field.
Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health by ISBN: 9781351035620Publication Date: 2019The Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health is the authoritative reference work on important, leading-edge developments in the domains of women's sexual and reproductive health.
Gender and Sexuality Studies Librarian
