SOC 5490: Crime, Desistance, and Reentry (Prof. Annika Anderson): News & Newspapers

This guide will help you complete your assignments for SOC 5490. Thank you to Lorena O'English (Washington State University) for sharing this guide template and much of the content.

National and International News

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of major U.S. and international newspapers. Full text available for most articles.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by and for minortized ethnic groups. Includes some Spanish-language publications.
Wall Street Journal, Eastern ed., via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
January 1984 to the present. Search or browse by date. Includes article text only; no photos, ads, or other graphics.
Free access to content at the WSJ web site for current CSUSB students and employees is available through ASI.
Foreign Language News via WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
News from around the world, in languages including Spanish, French, Russian, and more. The 10 most recent stories display by default; do a search to find other news.
New York Times via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
June 1980 to the present. Search or browse by date. Includes article text only; no photos, ads, or other graphics.

News Clips

Sun Bernardino County Sun Digital Archive

Back issues of the San Bernardino County Sun have been digitized and posted at Newspapers.com, a division of Ancestry.com. For more about the Sun Digitization Project, please see our Library Guide on the San Bernardino County Sun.

San Bernardino County Sun Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital images of the County Sun from Sept. 1, 1894-March 30, 1998. Fully searchable.
NOTE: There is a free version of the San Bernardino Sun Archive that includes almost all the same content, but has fewer options for saving.

San Bernardino County Sun Current Issues

San Bernardino Sun via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Text of the San Bernardino Sun (a.k.a. the County Sun) July 4, 2004-Dec. 31, 2019. Search or browse by date. Includes article text only; no photos, ads, or other graphics.

County Sun Web Site
(Free). Searchable for recent stories; date range unclear (possibly last 4 years?). Text only; no images or ads.

Other California Newspapers

California News from NewsBank This link opens in a new window
More than 200 local California newspapers, many unavailable in other sources. Includes the Sun and the Press-Enterprise. Dates covered are generally mid-2000's to the present.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
Free, scanned editions of select California newspapers, primarily from 1846-1922.

Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2010): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of a Los Angeles newspaper produced by and for the Black community. Digital images available, fully searchable.
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 2015): ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital images of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from its beginning in 1881 up to 8 years ago. Includes advertisements, graphics, and text. Fully searchable by keyword.
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest (current) This link opens in a new window
(CSUSB users only.) Full text from Dec. 4, 1996-present. Text only; no images or ads.
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest (older) This link opens in a new window
(CSUSB users only.) Full text from Jan. 1, 1985, to Dec. 3, 1996. Text only; no images or ads.