Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to Library Resources: Articles

Instructors, do you want to use library materials in your courses? Here's how!

Link to full-text articles & other data

A few examples...

From ScienceDirect, a journal article: Diane Pecorari, "Good and original: Plagiarism and patchwriting in academic second-language writing." Journal of Second Language Writing, Vol. 12, No. 4, December 2003, pp. 17-345.
From Mergent, a company profile: Company Profile and Financial Record, Walt Disney Co.
From CQ Researcher, a report: Student Debt: Should College Tuition Be Free?
From the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, an entry: Cosmology

If you find the article in OneSearch, you can link to the OneSearch record.

You may also link directly to an article where it resides in one of the library's databases.

Link to the OneSearch record

If you find an article in OneSearch, linking to the OneSearch record is quick and easy!

Click on the article title to display the full record for the article you want.

  • Go to the "Send To" section (at the top of the full record page).
  • Click the Permalink icon.
    Screenshot with Permalink icon and URL highlighted
  • Copy the URL provided and paste it into your Web page.
  • You do not need to add anything!

Link directly to an article within a library database

For purposes of linking to content within library databases, there are generally two options: copy a "Permalink" or durable link provided by the database (EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases), or copy the link that appears in your Web browser, then add the proxy prefix.

Instructions for most databases:

Including: ACM Digital Library, ACS Publications, CountryWatch, Emerald, IEEE Xplore, JSTOR, Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, Mergent, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Journals, Oxford Art, Oxford Music, Project MUSE, SAGE, ScienceDirect, Springerlink, and Wiley:

  1. Display the page or PDF document you wish to link to.
  2. Copy the URL that appears in the "Location" or "Address" box on your Web browser.
  3. Paste the URL into your Web page.
  4. Add the library's proxy prefix to the front of URL: http://libproxy.lib.csusb.edu/login?url=

A correctly prefixed URL will look something like this:

http://libproxy.lib.csusb.edu/login?url=https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com/oi/10.1111/j.1365-246X.1997.tb06595.x

PLEASE NOTE: If you are working from home and are not on the campus VPN, you may find that the browser's URL for your article already has the proxy information embedded, like this example:

https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com.libproxy.lib.csusb.edu/doi/10.1111/j.1365-246X.1997.tb06595.x

That link format is OK to use also! So long as the URL includes the library's proxy information, it will work.

Important exceptions to this rule follow...

EBSCOhost-platform databases

DO NOT copy the URL in the "Address" or "Location" box on your browser! That URL is not stable and will expire after a short period. Use only the "Permalink" for EBSCOhost content.

  1. Click on the article title to display the citation and abstract.
  2. To the right of the abstract, click on the icon labeled "Permalink."
    Permalink icon highlighted on list
  3. A Permalink box will appear. Copy the URL given in this box and paste it into your Web page. This URL will already include the library's proxy prefix.
    Permalink box displaying URL
     

ProQuest-platform databases

Includes ABI/INFORM, Global Newsstream, Dissertations & Theses, and Music Database (IIMP).

  1. Click the document title to display the text, citation, and abstract.
  2. Click the "Abstract/Details" tab.
  3. Scroll down almost the bottom of the page to locate a field labeled Document URL.
  4. Copy the URL given in this field and paste it into your Web page. This URL will already include the library's proxy prefix.
    Document URL field displayed with highlight

 

NetAdvantage

Not all portions of NetAdvantage have stable URLs! In general, you can link to a section of NetAdvantage, but not necessarily a specific document or PDF file. Contact Stacy Magedanz for further details.

 

WestlawNext

DO NOT copy the URL in the "Address" or "Location" box on your browser! That URL is not stable and will expire after a short period. However, it is possible to construct durable links to specific articles or sections in WestlawNext. Please contact Stacy Magedanz for assistance.