Art & Design Resources: Ceramics
Your guide to resources that can make researching in the visual arts easier. (Originally written by Heather Lowe of the Visual Resource Center.)
Recommended Library Databases
- Oxford Art Online (Grove Dictionary of Art) This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Good starting point to find encyclopedia-style entries on artists, regions, styles, and periods.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Covers articles from a wide variety of art-related publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of humanities journal literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Full text archive that includes many scholarly art-related journals.
Web Resources
- Access CeramicsAn online collection of contemporary ceramic art curated by ceramics professors, curators, and professional ceramicists.
- Pottery StudioAn informal site based in the U.K. that gathers images of contemporary pottery.
- Encyclopedia SmithsonianFind reading lists, images, and online exhibitions in the arts. You can filter your search by clicking "Craft & Decorative Arts" and "Design and Applied Arts" to get more relevant results for ceramics.
- Arizona State University Ceramics Research CenterOne of the oldest museums to focus on ceramics as a fine art. They facilitate contemporary research projects in ceramics as well as the preservation of recent ceramic history and objects. You can find images, information about projects, and links to other helpful resources.
Museums and Galleries with Ceramics Collections
- American Museum of Ceramic Art (AMOCA)A nearby museum located at 399 North Garey Ave. Pomona, CA 91766.
Books
Library books at CSUSB are cataloged with Library of Congress Subject Headings. To explore items catalogued under the subject of ceramics, you may want to use the following subjects in your searches: pottery, ceramic art, and ceramic sculpture.
Though the online catalog is a great tool, sometimes it's helpful to go and browse the resources in the library. If you choose to do this, you might want to start in the following call number ranges: NK3700-4695 (ceramics), TP785-869 (technical ceramic information), TT916-924 (Ceramic technique).
Confrontational Ceramics by Call Number: NK4252.S63 S39 2008 OVERSIZEISBN: 9780812241396Publication Date: 2008
Hand Building Techniques (Ceramics Class) by Call Number: TT920 .C472713 1999ISBN: 0823005917Publication Date: 1999
Selected Journals & Magazines
- Ceramics MonthlyPfau Library's online subscription.
- ArtForum International (text-only, no graphics)Pfau Library's online subscription.
- Ceramics: Art & PerceptionPfau Library's online subscription.
Professional Organizations and Foundations
Professional organizations are a good way to stay up-to-date with happenings in your field.
Technical Resources
- Lakeside PotteryIncludes tips about firing to cone 6, glaze recipes, and more.