Art & Design Resources: Photography
Your guide to resources that can make researching in the visual arts easier. (Originally written by Heather Lowe of the Visual Resource Center.)
Recommended Library Databases
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Good starting point to find encyclopedia-style entries on artists, regions, styles, and periods.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Covers articles from a wide variety of art-related publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of humanities journal literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Full text archive that includes many scholarly art-related journals.
Web Resources
- Zone ZeroOnline photography magazine that focuses on contemporary Latin-American photography.
- The Eastman HouseBuilt on the collection of George Eastman, co-founder of Kodak, the Eastman House now has one of the most renowned collections of photography with open-access to its nineteenth century collections including Daguerrotypes. More photographs can also be seen at http://www.flickr.com/photos/george_eastman_house/
- International Center of PhotographyA major center for research and collecting of photographs. Here, you can find collections of photographs, opportunities for scholarships, and more.
- Victoria and Albert Museum’s Photography PageThe museum's subject page where you can access study guides, images, and essays on the subject of photography.
Books
Library books at CSUSB are cataloged with Library of Congress Subject Headings. To explore items catalogued under the subject of photography, you may want to use the following subjects in your searches: photography, artistic ; photograph collections, and Photographs--Law and legislation.
Though the online catalog is a great tool, sometimes it's helpful to go and browse the resources in the library. If you choose to do this, you might want to start in the following call number ranges: TR1-225 (history and artists), TR250-265(cameras), TR287-500 (development and processing), TR510-545 (color photography).
Against the odds: women pioneers in the first hundred years of photography by Call Number: TR139 .S27 2002ISBN: 0847823040Publication Date: 2002
Points of View: masterpieces of photography and their stories by Call Number: TR654 .P645 2007 OVERSIZEISBN: 9783865212146Publication Date: 2007
Selected Journals & Magazines
- AperturePfau Library's online subscription; most recent 3 years not available.
- ArtForum International (text-only, no graphics)Pfau Library's online subscription.
- Art in AmericaPfau Library's online subscription.
- Photography & CulturePfau Library's online subscription.
Professional Organizations
Technical Resources
- Occupational Outlook handbookFind projected types and availability of jobs for photographers
- Lynda.comSubscription based tutorial tool with great lessons on the adobe suite and other digital tools. A kiosk for art department use is located in the VRC.
- National Geographic Photography Tips PageTips on achieving the type of photography produced in the magazine
- International Center for Photography’s resources pageGeneral page with tons of practical resources