Art & Design Resources: Sculpture
Your guide to resources that can make researching in the visual arts easier. (Originally written by Heather Lowe of the Visual Resource Center.)
Recommended Library Databases
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Good starting point to find encyclopedia-style entries on artists, regions, styles, and periods.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Covers articles from a wide variety of art-related publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of humanities journal literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Full text archive that includes many scholarly art-related journals.
Web Resources
- Victoria and Albert Museum’s Sculpture PageThe museum's subject page where you can access study guides, images, and essays on the subject of sculpture.
- Art BabbleThis site aggregates videos from a range of reputable sources like museums and galleries. Here, you’ll find interviews with artists, curators commentary on exhibitions, and other documentary or podcast style videos.
Museums and Galleries
Books
Library books at CSUSB are cataloged with Library of Congress Subject Headings. To explore items catalogued under the subject of sculpture, you may want to use the following subjects in your searches: sculpture, sculptors, glass sculpture, and ceramic sculpture.
Though the online catalog is a great tool, sometimes it's helpful to go and browse the resources in the library. If you choose to do this, you might want to start in the following call number ranges: NB1-50 (general sculpture), NB60-1115 (history of sculpture), NB1160-1195 (sculpture designs and techniques).
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture Techniques by Call Number: NB1170 .M528 1990ISBN: 0823016099Publication Date: 1990
Selected Journals & Magazines
- ArtForum International (text-only, no graphics)Pfau Library's online subscription.
- Art in AmericaPfau Library's online subscription.
Professional Organizations
Technical Resources
- Art Show: Sculpture TechniquesCollection of links to a variety of technical and technique resources.
- International Sculpture Center's Resource DirectoryFind everything from services to other sculptors to programs.