Art & Design Resources: Glass
Your guide to resources that can make researching in the visual arts easier. (Originally written by Heather Lowe of the Visual Resource Center.)
Recommended Library Databases
- Oxford Art Online (Grove Dictionary of Art) This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Good starting point to find encyclopedia-style entries on artists, regions, styles, and periods.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Covers articles from a wide variety of art-related publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Useful for keyword searching across a broad selection of humanities journal literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window(CSUSB users only.) Full text archive that includes many scholarly art-related journals.
Web Resources
- Encyclopedia SmithsonianFind reading lists, images, and online exhibitions in the arts. You can filter your search by clicking "Craft & Decorative Arts" and "Design and Applied Arts" to get more relevant results for ceramics.
- Victoria and Albert Museum: Glass PageFind articles, videos, images, and related information.
Museums and Galleries
- Corning Museum of GlassA wonderful resource that includes a video archive of speakers, image collection, and much more.
Books
Library books at CSUSB are cataloged with Library of Congress Subject Headings. To explore items catalogued under the subject of glass, you may want to use the following subjects in your searches: glass art, glass craft, blown glass, and glass blowing and working.
Though the online catalog is a great tool, sometimes it's helpful to go and browse the resources in the library. If you choose to do this, you might want to start in the following call number ranges: NK5100-5500 (glass), TP785-869 (technical glass information), TT298 (Glass technique).
The Penland Book of Glass: master classes in flamework techniques by Call Number: TT298 .P45 2009 OVERSIZEISBN: 9781600591860Publication Date: 2009
A Beginner's Guide to Kiln-Formed Glass by Call Number: TT298 .G75 2007ISBN: 1579909094Publication Date: 2007
Voices of Contemporary Glass by Call Number: NK5110 .O45 2009 OVERSIZEISBN: 9781555953140Publication Date: 2009
Selected Journals & Magazines
- Glass QuarterlyThe website of this magazine’s publisher, Urban Glass, provides many useful resources including a long list of links to other publications, museums with glass collections, and suppliers
- ArtForum International (text-only, no graphics)Pfau Library's online subscription.
Professional Organizations and Foundations
Professional organizations are a good way to stay up-to-date with happenings in your field.
Technical Resources
- Gold Reverre TechniquesPost kiln coloring and gilding techniques